Masters Opening Night Preview:

Night One of the 2022 Ladbrokes Masters kicks off at 7pm this evening from the Marshall Area in Milton Keynes.

The top 24 players in the world will be looking to step up to the oche for their first chance to win a PDC trophy in 2022 and make a very strong start to the season.

MvG comes into the event 3rd seed and will be playing Luke Humphries or late arrival, Devon Petersen in his 2nd round match.

Last year’s Masters runner-up, Mervyn King will start his campaign against Ryan Searle.

An intriguing opening round clash is that between Gabriel Clemens and the Polish Eagle Krzysztof Ratajski. Despite the Pole having a superb record against the German Giant, the form book was beginning to alter toward the end of last year.

European Championship winner, Simon Whitlock has come into the event as fellow Winmau man Danny Noppert has withdrawn. The Wizard plays Dirk Van Duijvenbode in the first round with the winner progressing to play World Champion, Peter Wright.

After a sold 2021 season, Joe Cullen has his eyes set on breaking into the top 10 with a win in the masters. The Rockstar matches the 22nd seed, Daryl Gurney in the first round of the masters.

Darts World’s Stephen Bunting has a tough opener against Dave Chisnall but he will feel that the ‘local derby’ is one he can win. Waiting for the winner will be world No. 4, James Wade.

Rob Cross will hope to continue the return to form he was showing in 2021. An awkward tie against Brendan Dolan will leave the victor facing Portuguese ace Jose de Sousa in Rd two.

2022 Ladbrokes Masters

Friday, January 28 (1900 GMT)

First Round

  • Krzysztof Ratajski v Gabriel Clemens
  • Dave Chisnall v Stephen Bunting
  • Ryan Searle v Mervyn King
  • Rob Cross v Brendan Dolan
  • Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ian White
  • Joe Cullen v Daryl Gurney
  • Dirk van Duijvenbode v Simon Whitlock
  • Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries

Saturday January 29

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

  • Jose de Sousa v Cross/Dolan
  • Gary Anderson v Cullen/Gurney
  • Michael Smith v Ratajski/Clemens
  • James Wade v Chisnall/Bunting

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

  • Jonny Clayton v Van den Bergh/White
  • Gerwyn Price v Searle/King
  • Peter Wright v Van Duijvenbode/Whitlock
  • Michael van Gerwen v Petersen/Humphries

Sunday January 30

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 GMT)



Leave a Reply