Welsh Dragons to Clash Again.

Wales’ top two Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton will meet in a mouth-watering quarter-final after seeing off Ryan Searle and Dimitri Van den Bergh respectively.

Price landed a 164 checkout in his 10-8 win in a match the world number one led throughout despite pressure from debutant Searle.

“I was thinking too much in that game instead of just playing,” Price admitted. “I felt under enormous pressure today.

“I’ve had a full month off and hardly practiced and I think that showed tonight, I was a bit rusty.

Clayton’s passage through was less straightforward as he came through a 19-leg thriller to keep alive his hopes of retaining the title.

With Clayton leading 9-6, Van den Bergh showed resilience to force a decider, only for the Welshman to land a timely 180 before wrapping up the win with an 88 checkout in the following visit.

“Dimitri didn’t go away, he’s a class player and I’m so glad to get over that mark,” said Clayton.

“I just could not pull away from him; it was good timing with the 180 in the last leg.

“I’m happy with how I played considering we’re just coming back from a break.”

Sunday’s action on the decisive final day will begin at 1245 GMT with the quarter-finals, before the semi-finals and final take place from 1900 GMT.

The Ladbrokes Masters is being broadcast live on ITV4 in the UK, through the PDC’s worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV (excluding UK and Netherlands based subscribers).

2022 Ladbrokes Masters

Saturday January 29

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Jose de Sousa 10-7 Rob Cross

Joe Cullen 10-1 Gary Anderson

Michael Smith 10-6 Krzysztof Ratajski

Dave Chisnall 10-4 James Wade

Evening Session Jonny Clayton 10-9 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Gerwyn Price 10-8 Ryan Searle

Simon Whitlock 10-8 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 10-9 Luke Humphries

Sunday January 30

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Dave Chisnall v Michael Smith

Gerwyn Price v Jonny ClaytonSimon Whitlock v Jose de Sousa

Michael van Gerwen v Joe Cullen

Evening Session (1900 GMT)


Price/Clayton v Chisnall/SmithWhitlock/De Sousa v Van Gerwen/CullenFinalPrice/Clayton/Chisnall/Smith v Whitlock/De Sousa/Van Gerwen/Cullen


  • Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs
  • Semi-Finals – Best of 21 legs
  • Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund

  • Winner £60,000
  • Runner-Up £25,000
  • Semi-Finalists £17,500
  • Quarter-Finalists £10,000
  • Last 16 £5,000
  • Last 24 £2,500
  • Total £220,000


Lead Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 577) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy 

Leave a Reply