Whitlock wins as Wright wobbles.

Peter Wright’s first TV appearance as a two-time World Champion ended in defeat at the hands of Simon Whitlock in the second round of the Ladbrokes Masters on Saturday in Milton Keynes.

Just 26 days on from winning his second World Championship, Wright was beaten 10-8 by Whitlock as the Australian continued to make the most of his late call-up to the event.

Whitlock, who stepped in to replace Danny Noppert, will return to the Marshall Arena for Sunday’s final day of action, along with Saturday’s seven other winners – who include reigning champion Jonny Clayton, world number one Gerwyn Price and five-time Masters winner Michael van Gerwen.

Whitlock produced a characteristically battling performance to spoil Wright’s return to action as he reached his first Masters quarter-final since 2013.

Three consecutive legs saw the 52 year-old move within a leg of the match at 9-5, only for Wright to reply in kind to cut the gap to 9-8.

Despite a 180 from Wright in the following leg, Whitlock produced a 15-darter to get over the line.

“Peter has just won the World Championship, so it’s obviously a big scalp to take,” said Whitlock.

“I got a bit panicky and nervous towards the end but thankfully I got it done.

“It’s more relaxing knowing you shouldn’t be in a tournament, I feel like there’s no pressure on me.”

Whitlock will. Play Portuguese ace, Jose de Sousa, in the last eight.

2022 Ladbrokes Masters

Saturday January 29

Second Round

Afternoon Session

Jose de Sousa 10-7 Rob Cross

Joe Cullen 10-1 Gary Anderson

Michael Smith 10-6 Krzysztof Ratajski

Dave Chisnall 10-4 James Wade

Evening Session

Jonny Clayton 10-9 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Gerwyn Price 10-8 Ryan Searle

Simon Whitlock 10-8 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 10-9 Luke Humphries

Sunday January 30

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT) Quarter-Finals

Dave Chisnall v Michael Smith

Gerwyn Price v Jonny ClaytonSimon Whitlock v Jose de Sousa Michael van Gerwen v Joe Cullen

Evening Session (1900 GMT)


Price/Clayton v Chisnall/SmithWhitlock/De Sousa v Van Gerwen/CullenFinalPrice/Clayton/Chisnall/Smith v Whitlock/De Sousa/Van Gerwen/Cullen


Quarter-Finals – Best of 19 legs

Semi-Finals – Best of 21 legs

Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize Fund

Winner £60,000



Semi-Finalists £17,500

Quarter-Finalists £10,000

Last 16 £5,000

Last 24 £2,500

Total £220,000


Lead Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 577) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy 

Leave a Reply