Clayton Defends as Cullen debuts

The 8 players for the 2022 Cazoo Premier League have been announced by the PDC today.

Joe Cullen will make his Cazoo Premier League debut in 2022, with the eight-player line-up confirmed for this year’s new-look tournament.

Meanwhile, there is no place for European Champion Rob Cross or the much-tipped Fallon Sherrock.

Cullen’s selection comes less than 24 hours after lifting his maiden TV title at The Masters, while world number one Gerwyn Price and World Championship runner-up Michael Smith return to the elite competition after missing the 2021 season.

Heading up the class of 2022 are the world’s top three box-office stars Price, World Champion Peter Wright and five-time Premier League winner Michael van Gerwen, as well as reigning champion Jonny Clayton.

Former Premier League winners James Wade and Gary Anderson complete the star-studded line-up for the new season, which begins in Cardiff on Thursday.

The announcement of the competitors comes alongside the news that the 2022 Cazoo Premier League will be the first event to feature the Winmau Blade 6 dartboard under a new partnership which was revealed on Monday.

2022 Cazoo Premier League competitors:

Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen

James Wade

Michael Smith

Gary Anderson

Jonny Clayton

Joe Cullen

The 2022 Cazoo Premier League will return to being played in arenas across the UK, Ireland, Netherlands and Germany with a bumper £1 million prize fund on offer.

The eight players will contest 16 mini-events during the season ahead of the Play-Offs, where the eventual champion will be crowned.


Lead Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 577) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy 

Leave a Reply