German Darts Championship: Field and Details

Devon Petersen will be bidding to retain the Interwetten German Darts Championship title this weekend in Hildesheim, with the draw and schedule of play for the year’s second PDC European Tour event now confirmed.

The £140,000 tournament will see the European Tour return to Halle 39 from March 11-13, with the likes of World Champion Peter Wright and superstar Michael van Gerwen in action.

Recent International Darts Open winner Gerwyn Price has withdrawn due to a hand problem, while Brendan Dolan and Ted Evetts also miss the event through illness.

Those withdrawals mean that Gabriel Clemens and Chris Dobey replace Price and Dolan amongst the 16 seeds who enter in round two, while 2020 German Darts Championship winner Devon Petersen, Mensur Suljovic and Jamie Hughes received a first round bye.

Top 16 Seeded Players (Enter at Second Round stage) 

  • 1 Jose de Sousa
  • 2 Michael Smith
  • 3 Peter Wright
  • 4 Jonny Clayton
  • 5 Joe Cullen
  • 6 Michael van Gerwen
  • 7 Ryan Searle
  • 8 Rob Cross
  • 9 Dirk van Duijvenbode
  • 10 Dimitri Van den Bergh
  • 11 Damon Heta
  • 12 Luke Humphries
  • 13 Callan Rydz
  • 14 Krzysztof Ratajski
  • 15 Gabriel Clemens
  • 16 Chris Dobey

Tour Card Holder Qualifiers x24: Luc Peters, Kim Huybrechts, Jermaine Wattimena, Joe Murnan, Chris Dobey (now a seed), Alan Soutar, Jose Justicia, Devon Petersen, Daryl Gurney, Darius Labanauskas, Dave Chisnall, Martijn Kleermaker, George Killington, Nathan Rafferty, Mensur Suljovic, Jimmy Hendriks, Vincent van der Voort, Jamie Hughes, Martin Lukeman, Mario Vandenbogaerde, Adrian Lewis, Scott Waites, Ricky Evans, Ted Evetts

Associate Member Qualifiers: Gian van Veen, Stefan Bellmont

Automatic Host Nation Qualifiers x2: (Gabriel Clemens – now a seed), Martin Schindler

Host Nation Qualifiers x2: Niko Springer, Lukas Wenig

PDC Nordic & Baltic Qualifier: Marko Kantele

East Europe Qualifier: Karel Sedlacek
NB: Gerwyn Price, Brendan Dolan & Ted Evetts withdraw. As such, the next two ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit, Gabriel Clemens & Chris Dobey, become seeds and three players receive a first round bye.

Format – All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Prize Fund 

  • Winner: £25,000
  • Runner-up: £10,000
  • Semi-Finalists: £6,500
  • Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
  • Last 16 losers: £3,000
  • Last 32 losers: £2,000
  • Last 48 losers: £1,000
    Total: £140,000

NB: Seeded players who lose their last 32 match in the event will not be credited with prize money on to the Order of Merit, ProTour Order of Merit or European Tour Order of Merit, however they shall still receive full prize money payment.

Streaming Coverage – Worldwide for PDCTV Subscribers outside of Germany, Austria & Switzerland – Germany, Austria & Switzerland

  • plus Bookmakers’ websites
  • Betmotion
  • bet365
  • Betfred
  • Betika 
  • Bitgame 
  • Betfoot
  • Betlive 
  • Betxchange 
  • bwin
  • Cybetech (Luckyland)
  • Efbet
  • Fonbet
  • Fortuna 
  • Geogaming 
  • Ligastavok
  • Marathonbet
  • Merrybet 
  • Mondobets 
  • Msport
  • Nike
  • Olimp
  • Skybook365
  • Stanleybet
  • Stoiximan
  • Superbet
  • Sportybet 
  • STS
  • Totogaming
  • Tipsport
  • Unibet
  • William Hill
  • Winlinebet
  • World Sports Betting

Tournament Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards
(6) Michael van Gerwen v Jose Justicia/George Killington

(11) Damon Heta v Martin Lukeman/Jimmy Hendriks

(3) Peter Wright v Martin Schindler/Jermaine Wattimena

(14) Krzysztof Ratajski v Jamie Hughes

(7) Ryan Searle v Vincent van der Voort/Gian van Veen

(10) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Alan Soutar/Luc Peters

(2) Michael Smith v Devon Petersen

(15) Gabriel Clemens v Dave Chisnall/Stefan Bellmont

(5) Joe Cullen v Nathan Rafferty/Ricky Evans

(12) Luke Humphries v Daryl Gurney/Lukas Wenig

(4) Jonny Clayton v Marko Kantele/Scott Waites

(13) Callan Rydz v Mensur Suljovic

(8) Rob Cross v Mario Vandenbogaerde/Martijn Kleermaker

(9) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Darius Labanauskas/Niko Springer

(1) Jose de Sousa v Joe Murnan/Kim Huybrechts

(16) Chris Dobey v Karel Sedlacek/Adrian Lewis

Schedule of Play

Friday March 11

First Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Marko Kantele v Scott Waites

Alan Soutar v Luc Peters

Martin Lukeman v Jimmy Hendriks

Mario Vandenbogaerde v Martijn Kleermaker

Darius Labanauskas v Niko Springer

Nathan Rafferty v Ricky Evans

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)

Jose Justicia v George Killington

Martin Schindler v Jermaine Wattimena

Dave Chisnall v Stefan Bellmont

Vincent van der Voort v Gian van Veen

Daryl Gurney v Lukas Wenig

Joe Murnan v Kim Huybrechts

Karel Sedlacek v Adrian Lewis

Saturday March 12

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Krzysztof Ratajski v Jamie Hughes

Rob Cross v Vandenbogaerde/Kleermaker

Dirk van Duijvenbode v Labanauskas/Springer

Damon Heta v Lukeman/Hendriks

Ryan Searle v Van der Voort/Van Veen

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Soutar/Peters

Luke Humphries v Gurney/Wenig

Joe Cullen v Rafferty/Evans

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)

Jose de Sousa v Murnan/Huybrechts

Michael Smith v Devon Petersen

Gabriel Clemens v Chisnall/Bellmont

Michael van Gerwen v Justicia/Killington

Peter Wright v Schindler/Wattimena

Jonny Clayton v Kantele/Waites

Callan Rydz v Mensur Suljovic

Chris Dobey v Sedlacek/Lewis

Sunday March 13

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 GMT)




Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order


Image: PDC Europe

Leave a Reply