The Quiff claims maiden Pro Tour title

Jim Williams picked up his 1st PDC ranking title on Sunday, after an 8-6 victory over Ricky Evans in the final of Players Championship Six, as the third weekend of the 2022 Pro Tour season came to a close at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Former World Trophy winner, Williams, who won a Tour Card for the first time last September after winning the 2021 PDC Challenge Tour, came through two last leg shootouts in booking his spot in the decider, as he recorded victories over Peter Hudson, Kevin Burness, Andrew Gilding, Scott Williams, Michael Smith and Martin Schindler, to set up a clash with Ricky Evans.

The final began with Evans taking the opener in 17 darts, before Williams rattled off three on the spin in 15,18 and 14 darts respectively to take a two-leg gap over his opponent. Evans then levelled up the tie by winning back-to-back legs in 15 and 18 darts, before Williams won three legs out of the following four, which saw him take a 6-4 lead and go within two of victory. Evans then levelled up the decider once more, which saw him fire in a 128 checkout to make it 6-6 and a best of three contest. The remainder of the final proved to be a nervy affair, as Williams won the following two legs, which saw him seal the victory with a 25 darter in Leg 14 to take the tie and the £12,000 first prize.

Evans’ wait for a 1st ranking title continues as he reached his 1st final in three years by recording victories over Chris Dobey, John O’Shea, Jason Lowe, Mensur Suljovic, Gabriel Clemens and Danny Noppert, denying the newly crowned UK Open Champion, who fired in a perfect leg during their Semi Final clash.

Elsewhere, there was a first Last 8 run of the season for Ian White and a first ever for Northern Ireland’s Josh Rock. The likes of Peter Wright, Gary Anderson and Dimitri Van den Bergh all suffered early exits, with Saturday’s PC5 winner Damon Heta losing out in Round 3.

The PDC Pro Tour returns next weekend on 26-27th March in Niedernhausen with Players Championship Seven & Eight taking place, with the 128 players competing for £100,000 in prize money each day, with play beginning at 12:00 GMT. Play will be broadcasted across two streaming boards on PDC.TV and various bookmaker websites worldwide, with all live scores and results on

Players Championship 6
Last 16
Josh Rock 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Martin Schindler 6-5 Callan Rydz
Jim Williams 6-5 Scott Williams
Michael Smith 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Ian White 6-5 Cameron Menzies
Danny Noppert 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Ricky Evans 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Gabriel Clemens 6-0 Mario Vandenbogaerde

Quarter Finals
Martin Schindler 6-1 Josh Rock
Jim Williams 6-3 Michael Smith
Danny Noppert 6-4 Ian White
Ricky Evans 6-3 Gabriel Clemens

Semi Finals
Jim Williams 7-5 Martin Schindler
Ricky Evans 7-4 Danny Noppert

Jim Williams 8-6 Ricky Evans


Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 578) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply