Aspinall Ends Two Year Wait for Ranking Title.

Nathan Aspinall picked up his first title for over two years on Sunday, after an 8-6 victory over Matt Campbell in the final of Players Championship 13, as the Pro Tour weekend concluded at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Aspinall, who was denied in last Sunday’s PC11 final, went a step further just seven days later, as he dropped just 11 legs on route to the decider, as he recorded victories over Joe Murnan, Nathan Rafferty, Andy Boulton, Scott Mitchell, Rob Cross and Brendan Dolan, to set up a clash with Campbell.

The final began with Campbell taking the opener in 18 darts, before Aspinall won three legs on the spin to take a two-leg lead at 3-1. Campbell then fought back to level up the tie at 3-3, before Aspinall won back-to-back to cut the gap once more to two legs. Campbell then halved the deficit in leg 9 with a 15 darter to make it 5-4, before a run of five straight holds of throw, which saw Aspinall seal the victory in leg 14 with a 12 darter to take the title and pick up a 6th of his PDC career.

Campbell’s run to a first ranking final of his career saw the Canadian record victories over Jamie Hughes, Danny Noppert, Krzysztof Ratajski, Peter Hudson, Martijn Kleermaker and Gabriel Clemens.

Elsewhere, there were Quarter Final runs for Scott Waites and Martin Lukeman, with the likes of Gerwyn Price, James Wade, Ryan Searle and Saturday PC12 winner Dirk Van Duijvenbode all suffering early exits.

The PDC Pro Tour returns on 10-11th May in Wigan with Players Championship Fourteen & Fifteen taking place, with the 128 players competing for £100,000 in prize money each day, with play beginning at 12:00 GMT. Play will be broadcasted across two streaming boards on PDC.TV and various bookmaker websites worldwide, with all live scores and results on

Players Championship 13
Last 16
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Jake Jones
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 John Henderson
Matt Campbell 6-4 Peter Hudson
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Adam Gawlas
Scott Waites 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Scott Mitchell
Rob Cross 6-0 Kim Huybrechts

Quarter Finals
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Martin Lukeman
Matt Campbell 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Scott Waites
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Rob Cross

Semi Finals
Matt Campbell 7-2 Gabriel Clemens
Nathan Aspinall 7-3 Brendan Dolan

Nathan Aspinall 8-6 Matt Campbell


Image: PDC

Leave a Reply