Qualifier Trio Complete World Seniors Matchplay Field

Brian Dawson, Paul Hogan and Colin McGarry will all head to the Bonus Arena in Hull for the 3-day World Seniors Darts Tour televised event.

Dawson, a former BDO World Championship participant was the first to secure his spot, winning the first qualifier on Saturday.
‘Doggy’ defeated Scotland’s Jim McEwan in the final setting up a match with Tony O’Shea in the the preliminary round of the World Seniors Matchplay.
The Yorkshireman also accounted for Andy Jenkins and Colin McGarry on his run to victory.

Paul Hogan also sealed his spot by winning outright. Crocodile Dundee defeated another Yorkshireman, Martyn Turner, in the final on Sunday.

Hogan, a late addition to the World Seniors Darts Tour, was beaten by David Cameron in the World Seniors Masters Qualifier just a few weeks ago. This time, the Berkshire man went one better and will head to Hull to take on Lisa Ashton in the preliminary round.

Northern Irishman Colin McGarry completes the trio, qualifying as the top player on the World Seniors Order of Merit. The Chief has attended every WSDT floor event so far, even winning the first warm-up competition back in November of last year.

McGarry has been unable to replicate that success in qualifying or ranking events so far, but his sheer consistency saw him overtake Richie Howson on Saturday for the first time, and he entered day 2 leading by 2 points.
That lead became unassailable when Howson fell in the Last 16 to Jim Walker, handing McGarry his shot at the 1982 World Champion, Keith Deller.

Interviews with all 3 players will be available by midnight today via the World Seniors YouTube channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC03cMdwInm8WsFsriJXjinQ

Selected results

Qualifier 1
Last 16
Hogan 5-2 Monk
Huntley 5-1 D. Smith
Walsh 5-3 Moss
McEwan 5-3 Jones
McGarry 5-2 Tipple
Turner 5-3 Stafford
Ferrell 5-2 Lewis
Dawson 5-4 Jenkins

Huntley 5-4 Hogan
McEwan 5-3 Walsh
McGarry 5-3 Turner
Dawson 5-4 Ferrell

McEwean 6-0 Huntley
Dawson 6-1 McGarry

Dawson 6-5 McEwan

Qualifier 2
Last 16
McGarry 5-4 Eirig
Johnson 5-4 Jones
Turner 5-3 McEwan
Holloway 5-3 Monk
Walker 5-3 Howson
Hogan 5-1 Jenkins
Prins 5-3 Tipple
Stride 5-4 Moss

Johnson 5-1 McGarry
Turner 5-2 Holloway
Hogan 5-1 Walker
Prins 5-3 Stride

Turner 6-4 Johnson
Hogan 6-0 Prins

Hogan 6-2 Turner

The JenningsBet World Seniors Matchplay will take place between the 1st-3rd of July at the BonusArena in Hull.

Preliminary Round/Last-16 and Quarter-Finals are all best of 15 legs.
Semi-Finals and Final are best of 17 legs.

Leave a Reply