New Zealand Team Share Individual Spoils

Ben Robb and Warren Parry shared the spoils as the 2022 DPNZ Pro Tour season began in Auckland. 

The pair will represent New Zealand at this week’s Cazoo World Cup of Darts in Frankfurt, and they enjoyed the perfect preparation by claiming domestic success in Papakura as DPNZ action returned.

Robb breezed through to the Pro Tour 1 final in dominant style, following up a whitewash win over Sonny Matekaure in the last eight by thrashing Mark Cleaver 6-0 in the semi-finals. 

The 33-year-old then clinched his third DPNZ Pro Tour title with a hard-fought 7-5 victory over 2019 World Cup quarter-finalist Haupai Puha on Saturday. 

However, Robb, twice a World Championship qualifier, was denied a weekend double by his veteran compatriot Parry in Sunday’s second day of competition. 

Parry swept aside Mike O’Grady 5-1 in the quarter-finals, before recovering from 2-0 down to demolish Jimmy Samuels in the semi-finals, winning six straight legs to advance. 

This set up a showdown between New Zealand’s World Cup pairing, but it was Parry who prevailed, following up back-to-back 180s with a 12-darter to edge out Robb 7-5 in a high-quality affair. 

Darting action in New Zealand continues in July with four World Series of Darts Qualifiers being held on July 16-17 in Christchurch.

Saturday July 16 will see the first NZ Darts Masters Qualifier followed by the knockout for players to win a spot in the PalmerBet Queensland Darts Masters.

A second place in the NZ Darts Masters is on offer on Sunday July 17 ahead of the qualifier for a place in the PalmerBet NSW Darts Masters.

The remaining two spots at the NZ Darts Masters – to be held at Hamilton’s GLOBOX Arena on August 26-27 – will be awarded to the top two non-qualified players on the DPNZ rankings following the Pro Tour double-header in Christchurch from August 6-7.

The DPNZ are also planning further Pro Tour double-header weekends on September 24-25 in Auckland and on October 15-16 in Dunedin.

DPNZ Pro Tour 1
Saturday June 11

Ben Robb 5-0 Sonny Matekaure
Mark Cleaver 5-3 John Hurring
Haupai Puha 5-3 Stu Irwin
Nevin Fillimoeatu 5-4 Haunui Hira

Ben Robb 6-0 Mark Cleaver
Haupai Puha 6-2 Nevin Fillimoeatu

Ben Robb 7-5 Haupai Puha

DPNZ Pro Tour 2
Sunday June 12

Ben Robb 5-1 Emilio Hovell
Landon Gardiner 5-0 Jack Sheppard
Jimmy Samuels 5-2 Stu Irwin
Warren Parry 5-1 Mike O’Grady

Ben Robb 6-3 Landon Gardiner
Warren Parry 6-2 Jimmy Samuels

Warren Parry 7-5 Ben Robb


Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 579) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply