Undisputed: The ADC’s Tungsten Roadshow is Back on the Move.

THE ADC’s fantastic ‘Belts’ concept benefitted many players during its first MAD incarnation. Global champion Jarred Cole went on to appear at Lakeside and send Martin Adams packing.

With the second Undisputed night of 2022 only a week or so away Darts World Extra reviewed a fabulous first night:

Ruthless James Richardson visibly grew in stature after claiming the European title and Jim Williams certainly benefitted from benign Welsh Belt holder before progressing to winning on PDC Pro Tour in 2022 

Jim Williams’ move to the PDC back in January ensured the Welsh Title he had held became vacant and the battle to succeed him was the main event as the UNDISPUTED Belt nights returned:

The Botanical Gardens played host to the first ADC undisputed night of the year which saw David Davies become a new, and possibly surprise, holder of the Welsh Title after he beat recent MODUS Live League winner Robert Owen 8-1 with an average of 93.73. 

Stack Attack will have gone into Manchester full of confidence, but he failed to get going at all as his compatriot stormed to victory in an impressive outing. 

A big win for the fast-improving Davies. The Welshman will hope he can keep hold of his title for some time. He sits 43rd in the current ADC rankings with 120 ranking points, but now being the Welsh title holder he will be eligible for a seeded place at the World Darts Open in December. Can he go on to add to his Imperial Hotel Darts Slam and Pennyffordd British Legion Darts Slam titles so far in 2022? 

Stu Wilson held on to his Falcons title in Manchester after beating Tom Cromwell 7-5 in the penultimate match of the night. The Phoenix averaged 80.97 in defending his title and will hope for more success this year has appeared on the PDC Pro Tour on a few occasions thus far. 

In many ways, Wilson is the poster boy of the Belts concept. Lesser-known until last summer when he won his England Falcons he then went out and immediately won prestigious open titles. His surge continued as he claimed a PDC Challenge Tour event in 2022 and was signed up by new darts manufacturer Perfect 9. Wison has won or held the belt on three occasions so far and is fast establishing himself a strong career in the game. 

Adam Warner will next play in the Streamline Taxis York Open series and will head there as the new Terriers champion after beating ADC Number 3 Lloyd Pennell 7-2 to claim the belt in Manchester. The title was vacant before the match but Pennell was the clear favourite going in having won five times on the ADC Circuit this year, whilst Warner has won two so far. 

Undisputed Manchester: Results

Grudge Match: Gary Blades 6-3 Sam Cromwell 

Grudge Match: Rob Gatcliffe 6-5 Shaun Thompson 

Terriers Title: Adam Warner 7-2 Lloyd Pennell

Falcons Title: Stu Wilson 7-5 Tom Cromwell 

Welsh Title: David Davies 8-1 Robert Owen 

The night also saw two of the new feature ‘Grudge Matches’ take place with Winmau Championship Tour 2 finalist Gary Blades winning 6-3 against Sam Cromwell despite averaging nearly three points lower than his young opponent. Rob Gatcliffe won the other grudge match against Shaun Thompson, winning a last-leg decider with an average of 74.42 in Manchester.

Next Time…..

There will be more undisputed nights during 2022 with the show moving to Bristol next on July 22nd. The bill looks like a superb evening’s entertainment. Topping the serious stuff will be James Richardson putting his European title on the line against The Artist Kevin Painter. Ryan Palmer will be defending his England warriors belt and one of the ‘Grudge matches feature The Bomber himself. 

In addition to the many other reasons for grabbing a ticket (Here) you will be also helping a Cystic Fibrosis charity.

ADC Belt Holders:

Global – Jarred Cole

European – James Richardson

English –  Scott Marsh

Scottish –  Gary Stone

Welsh –  David Davies

Regional (England Apaches- Mark Hylton, England Crusaders – Tony Newell, England Eagles- Vacant, England Falcons – Stu Wilson, England Invaders – Richard North, England Knights- Keelan Kay, England Nomads – Dave Prins, England Ospreys – Chris Quantock England Royals -Matthew Dennant, England Terriers- Vacant, England Titans – Dave Parletti, England Warriors – Ryan Palmer Scotland Bravehearts – Darren Beveridge, Scotland Highlanders- Alex Morrison, Wales Patriots- Mike Warburton, Wales Sharks- Robert Owen)


Read or Download your Darts World Extra 3 Here

Darts World Magazine (Issue 579) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply