Williams and Van Veen Claim Titles

PDC Winmau Development Tour Events 18 & 19

Gian Van Veen and Lewy Williams were victorious on Saturday, in winning Development Tour Events 18 & 19 respectively, as the PDC’s Youth Tour weekend continued in Hildesheim.

Van Veen, who lost out in the final of Event 11 earlier in the year, went a step further as he reached the final in Event 18 by recording victories over Hauke Rosin, Katie Sheldon, Cavan Phillips, Cam Crabtree, Joshua Richardson, Kevin Doets and Owen Roelofs, to set up a clash with the inform, Josh Rock.

The final began with Rock racing into a 2-0 lead, before Van Veen fought back in winning three on the spin to move ahead for the first time. Rock then levelled up the tie with a 16 darter in Leg 6, to make it a best of three contest. The pair then held throw for the remaining three legs, with average of throwing first in the decider proving to be vital, as Van Veen sealed victory with a 14 darter to take the title and deny Rock the chance of picking up a 3rd straight crown, after winning both events on Friday.

In Event 19, Welshman Lewy Williams was victorious, as he dropped just nine legs in reaching the final by recording victories over Danny Jantowski, Nicolas Gilbert, Owen Maiden, Keanen Norris, Jonas Aplowski, Robin Beger and Daniel Perry, to set up a clash with Kevin Doets.

The final began with three straight holds of throw, before Williams broke Doets’s throw for the first time in leg 4 with a 17 darter, before following up with another 17 darter to move 4-1 ahead and one away from victory. The Dutchman did produce a near comeback in forcing a deciding leg, before Williams sealed victory with a 13 darter to pick up his 1st Development Tour crown of his career.

The PDC Winmau Development Tour weekend concludes on Sunday with Event 20 taking place in Hildesheim, as play commences from 9:30am BST, with all live scores and results to be viewed at tv.dartconnect.com

PDC Winmau Development Tour
Event 18
Quarter Finals
Adam Gawlas 5-0 Dylan Slevin
Josh Rock 5-1 Keane Barry
Owen Roelofs 5-1 Robbe Dasseville
Gian Van Veen 5-4 Kevin Doets

Semi Finals
Josh Rock 5-2 Adam Gawlas
Gian Van Veen 5-3 Owen Roelofs

Gian Van Veen 5-4 Josh Rock

Event 19
Quarter Finals
Keane Barry 5-2 Josh Rock
Kevin Doets 5-2 Vinay Ramnath
Daniel Perry 5-4 Zac Griffiths
Lewy Williams 5-0 Robin Beger

Semi Finals
Kevin Doets 5-4 Keane Barry
Lewy Williams 5-1 Daniel Perry

Lewy Williams 5-4 Kevin Doets


Image: PDC

Click here to purchase DW580:

Darts World Magazine (Issue 580) and fantastic value bundle offers:
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply