Were Slammin’

Raymond van Barneveld secured his place in the knockout stages at the Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts alongside Jonny Clayton, Luke Humphries, and fellow Dutch stars Michael van Gerwen and Dirk van Duijvenbode on Sunday.

The popular event has once got off to a rip-roaring start over the first two days action:

Van Barneveld – a Grand Slam winner in 2012 – rolled back the years to defeat reigning champion Gerwyn Price in a deciding-leg thriller in their second Group A contest.

The veteran stole the headlines with a vintage display at the Aldersley Leisure Village, defying a 106 average from Price to prevail in an epic, despite trailing 3-1 and 4-3 during the contest.

The Dutch icon is one of only six men to have lifted the title since its inception in 2007. With 3 players claiming 12, out of the fifteen contested, titles, RVB sits alongside Scott Waites and Jose de Sousa with a single triumph.

Welsh ace Clayton is yet to drop a leg in this year’s Grand Slam, making it back-to-back whitewash wins in Wolverhampton after sweeping aside Jermaine Wattimena to guarantee top spot in Group F.

“I know I’m not firing on all cylinders, but I think I’m getting back to my level. I’d love to win this, and I’m hunting this title,” declared the former Premier League champion.

This year has also seen the final ‘ever presents’ miss out on qualification with both James Wade and Gary Anderson not making the cut or securing a place through the qualifier.


Roll of Honour

2007 – Phil Taylor def Andy Hamilton 18-11

2008 – Phil Taylor def Terry Jenkins 18-9

2009 – Phil Taylor def Scott Waites 16-2

2010 – Scott Waites def James Wade 16-12

2011 – Phil Taylor def Gary Anderson 16-4

2012 – Raymond van Barneveld def Michael van Gerwen 16-14

2013 – Phil Taylor def Robert Thornton 16-6

2014 – Phil Taylor def Dave Chisnall 16-13

2015 – Michael van Gerwen def Phil Taylor 16-13

2016 – Michael van Gerwen def James Wade 16-8

2017 – Michael van Gerwen def Peter Wright 16-12

2018 – Gerwyn Price def Gary Anderson 16-13

2019 – Gerwyn Price def Peter Wright 16-6

2020 – Jose de Sousa def James Wade 16-12

2021 – Gerwyn Price def Peter Wright 16-8


2008 – James Wade v Gary Anderson (Second Round)

2014 – Kim Huybrechts v Michael van Gerwen (Quarter-Finals)

2015 – Dave Chisnall v Peter Wright (Group Stage)

2018 – Dimitri Van den Bergh v Stephen Bunting (Second Round)

Prize Fund

  • Winner £150,000
  • Runner-Up £70,000
  • Semi-Finalists £50,000
  • Quarter-Finalists £25,000
  • Second Round Losers £12,250
  • Third in Group £8,000
  • Fourth in Group £5,000
  • Group Winner Bonus £3,500
  • Total £650,000


Available Free: Darts World Extra 6

Click here to purchase DW580:

Darts World Magazine (Issue 580) and fantastic value bundle offers:
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply