Smith to Make Bahrain Bow Against Local Favourite

MICHAEL Smith will make his first competitive outing as World Champion when he takes on local qualifier Abdulnasser Yusuf in the first round of the Bahrain Darts Masters on Thursday.

The PDC’s World Series of Darts visits Bahrain for the first time this week in partnership with the Bahrain Tourism & Exhibition Authority, with the first of five international events this year taking place in the Dome at the Bahrain International Circuit on January 12-13.

Thursday’s first round sees the eight PDC stars take on eight Asian representatives, which includes two local qualifiers from Bahrain who will be making their TV debuts.

New World Champion Smith, who also became world number one with his Alexandra Palace success last week, has drawn Manama-based mechanic Yusuf in their opening tie.

Fellow Bahrain qualifier Basem Mahmood, a banker from Manama, has drawn former Premier League champion Jonny Clayton for their meeting in the Dome.

Reigning World Series of Darts Finals champion Gerwyn Price will take on Singapore’s veteran star Paul Lim, as the 68-year-old returns to the big stage.

World number two Peter Wright comes up against Japan’s Toru Suzuki, while Yuki Yamada has drawn five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld.

The tournament will open with the meeting between Dimitri Van den Bergh and Philippines’ Alain Abiabi, who is making his TV debut in Bahrain.

Luke Humphries’ first appearance on the World Series of Darts circuit sees the world number five come up against Hong Kong’s 23-year-old Man Lok Leung, while former World Champion Rob Cross drew India’s Nitin Kumar.

The tournament draw was made on Tuesday night as the Bahrain Darts Masters was launched with local media and representatives from promoters Bahrain International Circuit and CBX.

Following Thursday’s first round, the Bahrain Darts Masters concludes on Friday with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in one bumper session.

For tickets, visit

2023 Bahrain Darts Masters
Draw Bracket

(1) Michael Smith v Abdulnasser Yusuf
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Alain Abiabi
(4) Luke Humphries v Man Lok Leung
Raymond van Barneveld v Yuki Yamada
(2) Peter Wright v Toru Suzuki
Rob Cross v Nitin Kumar
(3) Gerwyn Price v Paul Lim
Jonny Clayton v Basem Mahmood

Schedule of Play
Thursday January 12 (1900 local time, 1600 GMT)

First Round
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Alain Abiabi
Rob Cross v Nitin Kumar
Luke Humphries v Man Lok Leung
Gerwyn Price v Paul Lim
Peter Wright v Toru Suzuki
Michael Smith v Abdulnasser Yusuf
Raymond van Barneveld v Yuki Yamada
Jonny Clayton v Basem Mahmood

Friday January 13 (1900 local time, 1600 GMT)

First Round – Best of 11 legs
Quarter-Finals – Best of 11 legs
Semi-Finals – Best of 13 legs
Final – Best of 15 legs

Prize Fund & Ranking Points
Winner – £20,000 & 12 points
Runner-Up – £10,000 & 8 points
Semi-Finalists – £5,000 & 5 points
Quarter-Finalists – £2,500 & 3 points
First Round Losers – £1,250 & 1 point
Total – £60,000


Grab your copy of Darts World 581 here while stock lasts:

Images: Featured – Darts World.

The Darts World 50 will be available to order (Here) from November 15th 2022 with release and delivery expected in early December

Also Available Free: Darts World Extra 6

Darts World Magazine (Issue 580) and fantastic value bundle offers:
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply