New Format Premier League: Opening Night

Peter Wright and Michael Smith will meet in a World Championship final rematch in Cardiff on Thursday, with each night’s opening fixtures confirmed for the 2022 Cazoo Premier League.

Following the announcement of a radical new format for the Premier League this season, each night will now feature a mini-tournament of quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final.

The season commences at Cardiff’s Motorpoint Arena on Thursday February 3, with the opening night’s quarter-finals headlined by the meeting of Wright and Smith a month after their epic Ally Pally decider, which the Scot won to claim World Championship glory.

Darts icons Michael van Gerwen and Gary Anderson also collide on a special night for the tournament as fans return to a recognised Premier League arena for the first time in almost two years.

Reigning champion Jonny Clayton will make his Cardiff homecoming against debutant Joe Cullen, while world number one Gerwyn Price returns to home territory against former Premier League winner James Wade.

Quarter-final fixtures for 14 of the 16 league phase nights are listed below in draw bracket order, with fixtures for Night Eight and Night 16 to be determined by league standings heading into each night.

All matches will be played over a best of 11 legs format, with a £10,000 bonus to each night’s winner.

Ranking points will also be awarded from each night – with five to the winner, three to the runner-up and two to the semi-finalists – to form the league table from which the top four players will progress to the Play-Offs.

The 2022 Cazoo Premier League will return to being played in arenas across the UK, Ireland, Netherlands and Germany with a bumper £1 million prize fund on offer.

The planned night in Berlin on Thursday March 24 has been rescheduled to Monday June 13 due to ongoing coronavirus restrictions in Germany. Further details will be issued to ticket holders in due course.

Tickets are now on General Sale via

The 2022 Cazoo Premier League will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK, through the PDC’s worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers.

2022 Cazoo Premier League Fixtures

Night 1 – Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Thursday February 3


Jonny Clayton v Joe Cullen

Gerwyn Price v James Wade

Peter Wright v Michael Smith

Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson


Lead Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 577) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy 

Leave a Reply