Women’s Series: Ashton Hattrick On Opening Weekend

Fallon Sherrock claimed her first PDC Women’s Series win of 2022 on Sunday as Lisa Ashton completed a weekend treble in Barnsley.

Ashton had dominated Saturday’s opening day in the year’s 20-event PDC Women’s Series by claiming back-to-back titles.

Sunday’s opening tournament then saw Sherrock, who had topped the 2021 PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit, pick up her first title of this year by defeating Jo Locke 5-3.

Ashton then denied the Milton Keynes star a second win of the day by coming from 4-2 down in the Event Four final to complete her weekend hat-trick at the Barnsley Metrodome.

The wins saw the pair moved clear of Rhian Griffiths and Lorraine Winstanley at the head of the Order of Merit following the first of five double-header weekends.

Sherrock was in dominant form throughout Event Three, losing just five legs in her opening four games before whitewashing Natalie Gilbert in the quarter-finals.

She then overcame Aileen de Graaf 5-1 in the semi-finals and came from 3-1 down to win four straight legs in seeing off Locke in the decider.

Sherrock was then agonisingly close to winning Event Four as she took on Ashton in the final.

She came from a leg down to lead 3-1, and added a second 14-darter of the final to move a leg away from victory at 4-2.

Ashton, though, capitalised when Sherrock missed one dart at the bull for the title in leg eight, before finishing 67 in the decider to secure her third title of the weekend.

Ashton also averaged almost 96 in her 5-3 semi-final win over Kirsty Hutchinson, and dropped only ten legs in six games in reaching the final.

The PDC Women’s Series continues on April 30 and May 1 with Events Five-Eight in Wigan, with a further £20,000 in prize money on offer.

In addition, places in the summer’s Betfred Women’s World Matchplay are on offer for the top eight players after 12 events, alongside spots for the year’s final top two in the Cazoo World Darts Championship.

2022 PDC Women’s Series

Event Three


Aileen de Graaf 4-0 Lerena Rietbergen

Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Natalie Gilbert

Rhian Griffiths 4-1 Roz Bulmer

Joanne Locke 4-1 Laura Turner


Fallon Sherrock 5-1 Aileen de Graaf

Joanne Locke 5-1 Rhian Griffiths


Fallon Sherrock 5-3 Joanne Locke

Event Four


Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Rhian O’Sullivan

Lorraine Winstanley 4-0 Jane Densley

Lisa Ashton 4-2 Aileen de Graaf

Kirsty Hutchinson 4-3 Trina Gulliver


Fallon Sherrock 5-2 Lorraine Winstanley

Lisa Ashton 5-3 Kirsty Hutchinson


Lisa Ashton 5-4 Fallon Sherrock


Image: PDC

Darts World Magazine (Issue 578) and 2022 bundle offers
Subscribe or purchase your copy

Leave a Reply